CVHS PTO STANDS BEHIND PRINCIPAL MOSS, OUR TEACHERS, & THE ENTIRE CARNEGIE CRASH

3/10/2024 10:04 pm

CVHS PTO STANDS BEHIND PRINCIPAL MOSS & THE ENTIRE CARNEGIE CRASH

Community Engagement Committee Co-Chairs, First-Year CVHS Parents Katherine Buchanan & Meghna Goswami

EM: Community Engagement Committee

 

Board Liaison, 6-Year CVHS Parent, PTO President, Maria Castro Calzada

EM: president@cvhspto.org


 "We, the parents and PTO of Carnegie Vanguard High School, unequivocally support Principal Ramon Moss. His leadership over the past 20 years has raised our students to the highest level of achievement."

*************ACTION ITEMS*************

1. ATTEND THE hISD BOARD MEETINGS

2. PARTICIPATE IN Letter Writing Campaigns 

 

 

1. HISD Board Meeting: Thursday, April 11th at 5pm

BOARD SERVICES CONFERENCE ROOM AND BOARD AUDITORIUM in the Hattie Mae White Educational Support Center building--HISD

4400 WEST 18TH STREET HOUSTON, TEXAS 77092 

 

***please be in attendance and sign up to speak (sign up opens 72 hours prior to the board meeting and closes at noon the day prior to the board meeting)***

 

Use the following website link to register to speak at the HISD board meeting: 

https://www.houstonisd.org/Page/32478

 

 

HISD BOARD CALENDAR:

 

We are asking speakers to focus on the problematic HISD teacher evaluation system that threatens the jobs of our high-quality, well-respected, and effective teachers at Carnegie Vanguard High School. 

 

***speakers usually have 2 minutes to speak, but given an anticipated large number of HISD community speakers this month, speakers will likely be given 1 minute to speak (about a 120-130 word speech)***

 

Below is information (potential talking points) about the problematic HISD teacher evaluation system:

 

—The current HISD administration generated teacher evaluation system (particularly the IRT spot classroom observation form) is unfair and penalizes teachers of honors level, pre-AP, and AP classes, as it does not take into account/align with the type of teaching and learning required in these advanced-level and college-level classes, such as: lecturing with note taking, class discussion, student seminars, extended periods of writing, and reading of full texts/novels.
 
—High-quality teachers who are well-respected, effective, and many who are award winning (teachers of the year, etc.), are at risk of losing their jobs simply for adhering to established standards and requirements for teaching advanced-level and college-level classes. 
 
—High-quality teachers fear that they will hurt their schools by simply adhering to established standards and requirements for teaching advanced-level and college-level classes, because not only are they being penalized, but their schools, their school administrators, and their students are being penalized.
 
—Even officials at the TEA (the entity that took over HISD and appointed Superintendent Miles) found flaws with HISD’s teacher evaluation system finding the approach to classroom observation to be “odd”, and raising concerns about the inadequate training of teacher evaluators with the TEA warning that HISD needs to provide clear training or risk "calibration issues”.
 
—HISD should adopt a teacher evaluation system that is peer-reviewed, proven to be valid by teacher organizations, based on state and/or national standards, and has built-in flexibility for properly assessing teachers of advanced level and college level classes.
 
IRT=Individual Review Team
TEA=Texas Education Agency
HISD=Houston Independent School District
 

 

When at the HISD board meeting, please:

 

-Be in the audience; wear your CVHS clothing proudly and stand in solidarity with us!!

 

-Attend wearing CVHS Shirts (red preferred): PTO ONLINE STORE or contact Mala Gupta, Parliamentarian, at Parliamentarian@CVHSPTO.ORG to obtain something from our current stock. 

 

-Be unified and respectful, and stay on message

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Letter Writing Campaign: April

HISD BOARD OF MANAGERS

Audrey Momanaee Audrey.Momanaee@houstonisd.org
Ric Campo Richard.Campo@houstonisd.org
Angela Lemond Flowers Angela.Flowers@houstonisd.org
Rolando Martinez Rolando.Martinez@houstonisd.org
Paula Mendoza Paula.Mendoza@houstonisd.org
Adam Rivon Adam.Rivon@houstonisd.org
Cassandra Auzenne Bandy Cassandra.AuzenneBandy@houstonisd.org
Michelle Cruz Arnold Michelle.Arnold@houstonisd.org
Janette Garza Linder Janette.GarzaLinder@houstonisd.org

 

TEA

 

Name Title Email
Steve Lecholop Deputy Commissioner Steve.Lecholop@tea.texas.gov
Alejandro Delgado Deputy Commissioner alejandro.delgado@tea.texas.gov
Mike Morath Commissioner mike.morath@tea.texas.gov
Dr Doris Delaney Conservator Doris.Delaney@houstonisd.org

 

 

Texas State Legislature  
Texas House of Representatives: Find My Representative
Who Represents Me? (texas.gov)

 

City Council

District A Amy Peck districta@houstontx.gov
District B Tarsha Jackson districtb@houstontx.gov
District C Abbie Kamin districtc@houstontx.gov
District D Carolyn Evans-Shabazz districtd@houstontx.gov
District E Fred Flickinger districte@houstontx.gov
District F Tiffany D. Thomas districtf@houstontx.gov
District G Mary Nan Huffman districtg@houstontx.gov
District H Mario Castillo districth@houstontexas.gov
District I Joaquin Martinez district1@houstontx.gov
District J Edward Pollard districtj@houstontx.gov
District K Martha Castex-Tatum districtk@houstontx.gov
At-Large 1 Julian Ramirez atlarge1@houstontx.gov
At-Large 2 Willie Davis atlarge2@houstonisd.org
At-Large 3 Twila Carter atlarge3@houstonisd.org
At-Large 4 Letitia Plummer atlarge4@houstontx.gov
At-Large 5 Sallie Alcorn atlarge5@houstontx.gov

 

 

 

Good Reason Houston

 

Cary Wright Chief Executive Officer cary@goodreasonhouston.org
Ashley Cash Chief Operating Officer ashley@goodreasonhouston.org
Faria Dhamani Chief Financial Officer faria@goodreasonhouston.org
Veronica Garcia Chief Policy Officer veronica@goodreasonhouston.org
Scott McClelland Founding Board Chair mcclelland.scott@heb.com
Adeeb Barqawi Board Member awei@prounitas.org
Ann Barnes Board Member annbarnes@episcopalhealth.org
Bobby Tudor Board Member btudor@TPHco.com
Darryl Wilson Board Member darryl@thewilsoncollective.com
Douglas L. Foshee Board Member dlf@sallyport.net
Jeff Shaddix Board Member jeff.shaddix@bcg.com
Jill Jewett Board Member jjewett@fingercompanies.com
Jim Postl Board Member jim.postl@quakerstate.com.mx
José Villarreal Board Member none
Manolo Sánchez Board Member Manolo.Sanchez@rice.edu
Peter Rodriguez Board Member peterrodriguez@rice.edu
Polly Whittle Board Member none
Sebastien Solar Board Member sebastien.solar@commercebank.com

 

 

Definition of a CRASH

#WELCOMETOTHECRASH

 

 

1. Carnegie, by all primary factors, is a top-performing school. 

      • Standardized Test scores
      • AP Test Scores / College Placement Exam Scores
      • College Acceptance Rate
      • TEA Scores
      • Teacher Retention
      • Ranking Websites Categories
        1. US News and World Report
        2. Children at Risk
        3. The Best Schools.Org
        4. Niche.Com
        5. HISD Gold Family Friendly School

2. Carnegie is well-known, well-respected.

  • Carnegie is consistently used by the district as an example of a stellar HISD school in its blog posts and social media when it suits them.
  • When given the choice of any school in the district, the last Superintendent, Miller House, chose Carnegie for his child.

 

3. Carnegie has experienced many changes in 20 years, except our Principal and our principles.

  • We have had multiple school boards come and go, multiple superintendents, two decades of political change, a pandemic, a recession, different school buildings, and even name changes; there have been differing standards from TEA to AP to STAAR, and even whether or not the SAT or ACT mattered anymore. The goalposts have moved and bent and been removed altogether, and... you name it, this Title I school has met it.

 

However, there have been 2 consistent elements in those 20 years

      1. UNQUESTIONABLE ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE & PREPAREDNESS OF CARNEGIE STUDENTS

      2. PRINCIPAL MOSS HAS BEEN AT THE HELM.

Excellence starts at the top at Carnegie Vanguard, and, as Principal Moss always says, we are not just a school or a community; we are a family. Our family is under attack. Let's welcome them to the crash*. 

 

HISD Superintendent says 100+ principals are NOT being fired... Mike Miles said he needed to clear up some misconceptions on the status of principals.

CVHS PTO President, Maria Castro Calzada Responds

HOUSTON – On the first day after Spring Break, Houston Independent School District’s Superintendent Mike Miles tried to set the record straight, saying the district does not plan to fire more than 100 principals. Some of those principles got notices last week they interpreted as threats that if they didn’t improve, they could lose their jobs.

SEE ALSO: City councilmember concerned that possible loss of more than 100 HISD principals could have detrimental long-term effect

Miles used a football analogy to explain that this is midseason and he can’s say yet where things will land.

“You want me to hire everybody back mid-season, even though we only played half the games? So that’s how we need to look at it and to characterize and say, well, these, you know, these principals, these high performing schools aren’t going to make they’re going to be fired. It’s like, no, that’s not the case. You know, odds are they’re going to they’re going to have a winning season. And we’re, we’re confident in that,” Miles said.

The district has said that based on performance reviews, 125 principals have demonstrated the leadership qualities necessary to keep their jobs for the next school year.

SEE ALSO: Up to 40 new schools will be added to HISD’s NES model. What do you think about the district’s decision?

 

https://www.click2houston.com/news/local/2024/03/18/houston-isd-superintendent-expected-to-announce-possibly-removing-more-than-100-principals/  

 

 

 

Buy Tickets to CrashBash

Buy Tickets to CrashBash 2024